This post is not about Dotty The Cat, and I am not a blogger.

April 16, 2008 at 7:51 pm 7 comments

I am not a blogger. Which doesn’t contradict the fact that I’m blogging right now. Not everyone who sings is a singer, and not everyone who blogs is a blogger.

I can’t sustain an interest in my own blog. I’m actually extremely interested in it, in bouts. I make it pretty, write some rubbish – well phrased, but pointless – and then I’m done. After a week of doing that, I can’t bear to look at it again.

You know how a lot of diseased bloggers read blogs like maniacs, scattering blogposts with random, uninteresting, and generic praise. I can’t do that either.

I’ve read a lot of BadBlogs (BBs). There are many different kinds of BBs. The ones I come across most frequently, are designed by thesaurus-wielding machines, with long pieces on how beautiful the moon looks through the redwood trees (when clearly, the author has never bothered to notice either), references to the Fauvist movement, perhaps, talking only of Matisse (the only Fauvist they know), deep reflections on childhood experiences, on love, and on betrayal. Not just regualar experiences. Deep experiences. Not just regular betrayal -betrayal that has Deep connotations. Deep. Keyword. Very Very Important. For these blogs, you MUST notice how beautifully the article is written, ignore the grammatical errors – grammar doesn’t matter when you write prose that beautifully. Besides, it’s difficult for the BadBlogger to figure out what MSWord is telling him/her to do when that green squiggly line appears under every other sentence. So the course of action is to open up that comment box, and since you have no self respect, you must write, “DAt wAs AwEsoME mAN! I cUd NEva RiTe lYk DaT.” OR “Killa shit, dude. That’s deeeep.”

But that’s not the only kind of BB.

The second of the BB is the black and pink blog. Something very cute, yet, not so cute, and basically, a little nauseating. Usually, it’ll be called, pinkbutterflylove.whatever.com, or emoflowerbunny.blah.com, or devilinpink.badblog.com. (I haven’t read wordpress or blogger blogs by those names, so if anyone I know owns these blogs, I shall be suitably disturbed.) ozonebaby does sound like that too. But it’s not black and pink. It’s not a brilliant blog either, but that’s not the point. I hate cute blogs. I usually don’t like their writers either.

Then of course, The RandBlogs. Baap Re Baap.

Why would you write a post that reads, say:

La la

I have no life

I am sad

Damn. Chocolate Ice Cream.

feelbetteralreadybutiwontshare

fuck u

WHY? WHY? WHY?

I don’t think I’m going to ridicule that. It ridicules itself.

The blogs that  I did/do like include Sam’s blog. All his posts were well construsted, and were fun reads. Not always informative (he wrote on the MITadmissions blogs), but always entertaining. The other blogs I lke are tech blogs, and I like them for totally different reasons. Besides, people actually spend good money on those, so they make up a different category of blogs, really. Also, CNN political ticker. Aha. 🙂

Now, I know this post is pretty judgemental. It focuses on my rather rigid opinion of some blogs, whose owners I usually don’t know. Perhaps, if I knew them, I’d be a little more tolerant of their blogpuke. I hope not, though. Also, there may be people that are DEEP ( with a capital D and an even more capital EEP). If so, they desperately need to become a little shallow. Last diss-claimer, for the generic praises – a blog does, to an extent, work like a network, and the strength of every network, is the number of active users – which is why there are more new users on facebook, than on bingbox, every day. Moreover, every comment, is a link. Therefore, to strengthen your own network, you keep leaving useless comments on every damn post of every damn blog. I particularly dislike a particular blogger whom I don’t know, for this, particularly. Virus comments work in the same way, only more effectively. Give dummies a link, and boy, will they triple click it!

I’m done.

Go read about Dotty the Cat on Google News. Freaky but cute story.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

WordPress TimeWarp Your Love Must Be Loud

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sahana  |  April 17, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I love Sam 07’s blog. His whole blog was pretty pointless, but it was hell funny, and it made you feel a lot better about being an idiot somehow.
    *shrugs*
    Who the hell is Dotty the Cat? I only find some link of Feral Cat Abuse and Free Dog Food.

    Reply
  • 2. ozonebaby  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Dotty the cat is a cat who had a kitten which had ‘ I ❤ .(dot)’ written on it’s black and white fur !!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. bb(er)  |  June 8, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    u forgot the worst of the bbs. the one which thinks it is any better. 😀

    Reply
  • 4. bb(er)  |  June 8, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    you forgot the worst of the bbs. it’s the ones which pride itself on not being one. 😀

    Reply
  • 5. ozonebaby  |  June 9, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    true true.

    and i honestly and truly think my blog is pretty shit. (i don’t read my blog, and noone else does either).but it’s not fake. and it doesn’t prove any point whatsoever. and that just makes me very happy.

    but i’m all for the fourth category of BBs

    Reply
  • 6. ozonebaby  |  June 9, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    just realized i’ve contradicted myself.

    Reply
  • 7. bb(er)  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    but that eej DA point, eyou see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


